The West Virginia Legislature consists of two separate chambers: the West Virginia Senate and the ​West Virginia House​ of Delegates

The West Virginia Senate is the upper house of the West Virginia Legislature and comprises 34 senators. Each senator represents a specific district within the state. Senators serve staggered four-year terms, with half of the seats up for election every two years. The Senate's primary responsibilities include proposing, debating and voting on legislation, as well as confirming gubernatorial appointments.

The West Virginia House of Delegates is the lower house of the West Virginia Legislature and is made up of 100 delegates. Like the Senate, delegates are elected to represent specific districts within the state. They serve two-year terms and are responsible for introducing and debating bills and approving the state budget.

The West Virginia Legislature convenes in the state capital, Charleston, and its primary functions include passing laws, allocating state funds, and overseeing the state government's operations. It plays a vital role in shaping public policy and making decisions that impact the lives of West Virginians. The legislative process involves committees, public hearings, and debates, where elected representatives work together to address the state's various issues and challenges.​